6 Months in London

My goodness has time flown by! We have now been in London for almost 6 months. It feels like we just arrived and it’s crazy to think of all that has happened since September.

December was a hard month. I missed family and friends, was uncomfortable in my final weeks of pregnancy and a horrible cold knocked me off my feet. I was anxious for William to arrive and worried how I would cope without the support of those at home. It’s amazing how one little man can change your outlook on things. William’s arrival gave me the kick start I needed. I was prepared for the worst in terms of sleep deprivation and having no time to look after myself. But thanks to a pretty easy baby, a wonderfully involved husband and a visit from my parents, I feel I have things under control. (At least until the 4 month sleep regression hits!)

Reflecting on our time here so far, I am very proud of what we have accomplished as a family and how we have settled in to a new way of life. I credit London for keeping me active and getting me out and about with a baby because there’s so much to do! William and I love going to art galleries and museums, meeting friends for tea and exploring all that London has to offer.

I even find that I have started to enjoy the things that at first annoyed me, like walking to get groceries and taking the tube everywhere. I still miss having a car and would kill to go on a big Costco run, but I love the feeling of walking outside in the fresh air, pushing my little partner in crime in his stroller and taking in this gorgeous city. The other day as we walked across the Waterloo Bridge and saw some of the amazing sights London has to offer, I was reminded what a great opportunity we have been given and how we need to make the most of it.

IMG_3068

IMG_3053

IMG_3052

IMG_3045

IMG_3044

10 thoughts on “6 Months in London

  1. Wow, 6 months already! How long will you guys be in London for? Two years was it? Or do you not know for sure? That’s so great that you are making the most of your time there so far. I’m such a homebody that I really have to force myself to get out of the house some days.

    Like

    1. The duration of our time here is a bit up in the air. I have a one year maternity leave, but Mike’s placement could be for longer, so we’ll have to re-evaluate things closer to next year.

      Like

  2. I’m glad you are so outgoing and positive and are making the most of your once-in-a-lifetime opportunity! But, don’t get too comfortable there, we want you home soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

