One Year in London

September 26th marked our one year anniversary of being in London. It is quite remarkable to reflect on all that has happened this past year.

I have always wanted to try living abroad, even if it was just for a short period of time. After University, I started working full time, Mike and I got married and we started to think about a family. I thought the likelihood of living in another city was slim, so I am very thankful that we have had this experience. This year has been a little challenging, but extremely rewarding.

IMG_4634

We have created a little home for ourselves in Wimbledon and are raising our little boy. We have really enjoyed all that London has to offer from the parks to the Theatre to the unique neighborhoods.

IMG_7255

IMG_6785

It is bittersweet that at this time, we will also begin planning our move back to Edmonton. I have so many mixed emotions about this. I cherish all the time spent with our families and miss them so much. When I think about raising a family, it involves being surrounded by our family and friends. Yet, I have really come to love the life that we live in London. At first, I was annoyed by having to take public transport and walk everywhere, but now I love it! I love living close to everything so that I can literally walk 5 minutes from our flat and go to the restaurants or shops.

IMG_6176

London is such a vibrant city and there are always events, festivals or concerts going on. I also like that London is a great base to travel from.

But, it’s time to move on. I need to return to work after my maternity leave, and Mike’s career path is taking us back home.

Now that we know our time in London is coming to an end, we have so many things that we still want to experience and need to cram in! As we get the last few pleasant weekends of the year, we hope to enjoy the outdoors. Once it turns chilly, we plan to take in some of the museums we haven’t seen before, and visit our favorites once again. I want to make the most of our remaining time here so that we have a lot of fond memories of our time in London.

IMG_7256

IMG_6230

IMG_4762

IMG_3054

3 thoughts on “One Year in London

  1. I think it’s so great you guys had this experience! I’ve always wanted to try living abroad too, and we still talk about it, but not seriously. I think it’s easier to do when work/school takes you somewhere. When do you guys actually leave? Did you keep your place in Edmonton while you were in London?

    Like

    1. Maybe somewhere down the line one of you can take a sabbatical or something. We hope to be home for Christmas! We sold our condo before we left, so we have a lot of work to do when we get back. It will take a little while to get back on our feet!

      Like

Leave a Reply

